Clear all

Hello All (Newbie Here)

35 Posts
24 Users
0 Likes
(@scholar)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

well i want to start by saying Im new to the guitar,just got it a week ago(Ibanez Artcore AF75). I bought a book called "Guitar for the Absolute Beginner" came with a dvd. now the first chord thats taught is "G" and then "D7" and next after that "C" chord. im just curious is this the way things start? right now i cant afford a teacher(27 yrs old 2 kids and wife) i practice 2 hrs a day(i think one of my fingers fell off...lol) any tips? and for the record i did read alot of threads here, and they have given me great relief that others struggle in the beginning as well.makes me feel better about my choice in playing guitar.

I'm so new to this!

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

You can play blues in the key of G with those three chords. :D

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@gunslinger)
Reputable Member

First, glue the finger back on and keep going :)

My biggest tip is have fun, followed closely by dont get discouraged. It can be tough sometimes.

Take breaks as needed. Beginning tends to be hard on the wrists and the fingers. Don't try to do too much at once. Pain hurts, and too much pain can mean a long recovery time.

Don't be afraid to ask for help.

After you feel comfortable with a few lessons, you may want to see if there are some lessons on this site (and others) that you want to try. Don't be afraid to try them, but just in case you aren't ready for them don't get discouraged with them.

Some of the things I've said may not apply to you. Some of the things I've said may offend you. But no matter who you are, you must remember this one thing: No matter what a str.....oh, sorry, wrong place for that advice :)

Good luck!

Our songs also have the standard pop format: Verse, chorus, verse, chorus, solo, bad solo. All in all, I think we sound like The Knack and the Bay City Rollers being molested by Black Flag and Black Sabbath.

Kurt Cobain