Notifications
Clear all

Help, beginner here!

18 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@lemminkake)
Topic starter  

Firstly, forgive my ignorance for I am not knowledged at all when it comes to guitars.

I am a super-beginner at playing guitars and I'm considering buying a guitar for myself. I did some research before going shopping and pretty much everywhere I went, people recommended acoustic guitars rather than classic guitars, because it sounds way better even though it would hurt a bit while playing. I also read that solid wood top is better than laminate top and i shouldn't get laminate top because it would crack easily and cause problems later on.

So I went and visited a music store. I told him I wanted an acoustic guitar and he showed me one. He said it was on sale, cost $110 USD. He said it was not laminate top. I felt it and yea it was slightly harder than laminate but it didn't feel like a solid top either... I made him play it a little and I thought it sounded pretty good. I don't know what brand it was (I don't think a "brand" would be this cheap :S) but he did tell me it was made and from China. I am not too sure about this, to be honest I'm a bit paranoid when it comes to shopping for something I have zero knowledge on..:S

I then went to another store and he showed me a solid wood top Yamaha acoustic guitar for $250, and told me it was not possible to find an acoustic guitar with solid wood top for lower than $250.

Then I went to the last store and these guys told me they were professionals and told me to buy a classical guitar because I was a beginner and it would be impossible for a beginner to play an acoustic guitar. They said it would take years of experience to play an acoustic guitar. Then they showed me a classical guitar with solid wood top for $155. So I guess here are my questions:

1. Is it really impossible for a beginner to learn on an acoustic guitar?
2. So what type of guitar should I start with, classical or acoustic?