Notifications
Clear all

Help, beginner here!

18 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@frankyl)
Eminent Member

Hi! I'm very much a new guy at guitars, too, having gotten my first guitar (also my first musical instrument) just a couple of months ago. It's a cutaway acoustic, made by "Palmer," an inexpensive, nice looking and decent playing (to my uneducated ears) steel-string acoustic. It is tough to learn on, but it is very much possible, if my ability to make some recognizable sounds after only a few months is anything to go by. Plus, as others have said, once you learn on the tougher acoustic, moving to electric ought to be relatively easy, while people I know who learned on electric have told me that trying to move to an acoustic was a nightmare.

Take it from another new guy, it's possible, and you don't have to go nuts and spend a fortune to get something that will allow you to make some pretty noises. Pick the guitar that had a nice feel for you, and have fun!

ReplyQuote
(@musicfreak14)

Hola
I'm gunna have to disagree with some of you on this one.
I say get the more expensive steel-string acoustic. (the PS3 can wait, guitars are way more fun! :D )
(do what I did, play it for 10 minutes 3 or so times a day, that way you'll fingers won't hurt too bad)

My reasoning:
I've found it incredibly frusterating to be a beginner and have to learn on some cheapo guitar that's doesn't sound decent. In my opinion having a better sounding guitar will really make you want to play guitar instead of having to struggle even more than nessisary to get the right sound.

and if for some totally CRAZY reason you decide guitar isn't for you...well...then just sell it back off, it'll still be in good condition (probably) and you'll probably get most of you money back. (or maybe I'd buy it from u, I could use a new acoustic :P )

that's just my opinion though.

Happy hunting and good luck!!!!

ReplyQuote
(@mmoncur)
Estimable Member