Clear all

How do you....

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@phillyblues)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

...translate that song in your head to that song on your fingers. This is probably a hard question to answer since I'm sure the answer differs based on experience level and everyone has a different approach (and I'm sure it comes more naturally to some).

Reason I ask is I've been playing fairly regularly now for close to 6 months and lately it just seems as though I'm constantly thinking off short little melodies/riffs/licks, etc. in my mind that I think would sound good, well, to me at least anyway (kind of wierd, maybe not, but I especially notice this happens a lot first thing in the morning when I'm just starting to wake-up). Anyway, I'm also just starting to delve a little more into improvising over a drum machine in the background and have been working it in regularly at the end of my practice sessions with at least 20-30 minutes of free-form playing (I usually just pick the upper 3 strings of a particular scale I'm learning and will play different combinations of those notes with the occassional bend, slide, vibrato thrown in for fun). Usually it ends up sounding like a variation of what I've learned elsewhere (but I suppose that's good too at this stage).

I'm waaaaaay to new at guitar to be able to hear something in my head and say "that sounds like an "x" note in the key of "y" played over a "abc" progression, etc" so for a beginner is it just a matter of trial and error.

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

I think you pretty much have to grab the guitar and start plucking notes until you hear what you are hearing in your head. I don't think there's any magic way except practice doing that over and over.