Clear all

How does one know?

24 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@brentb)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

How does one know when they are no longer a beginner? What criteria separates a novice from a "regular player?

brent

(@danlasley)
Noble Member

I have often said: "I've been a beginner for 30 years, and I'm getting pretty good at it!"

The path from beginner to expert is continuous with no road signs. Some people will say that you're more than a beginner when you can play barre chords or a Bm. IMHO, once you can play a few songs from start to finish, and once you've taught someone else something (anything), then you're more than a beginner.

The other conversation goes like this:

"When will I know if I'm good enough to play on stage?"
"When you step down from it."

ReplyQuote
(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

It's a moving target.

I think I went from novice to beginner and then back again. It was last Saturday for sure.

When you feel like you are a regular player.

ReplyQuote
(@corbind)
Noble Member

It's when you feel (semi) confident with playing with others. We all never wonder where we are on the ladder. God, I totally understand the question. Been there. When I'm with better players I cringe because "I'm not that."

Food for thought. You will never be as good as Johnny Guitar Player. For now. Yet, some day, you will be that Johnny Guitar Player and have someone like yourself wondering the same thing. Think about this post and let me know in 20 years...

"Nothing...can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts."

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

We are all beginners and we never stop learning. In the meantime, everybody wishes they were a better <something> than they are.