Skip to content
how long should it ...

Notifications
Clear all

how long should it take me to play a new song?

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@juletto)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello

I am a school teacher from Australia and started learning to play the guitar approx six months ago. The reason i wanted to learn to play was so that i could use this skill at work to sing and play with the children in my class. ( although it has really become a passion now) I think i am doing quite well i have managed to play a quite a few songs and can sight read music quite easily. My question here is how long should it take me to learn new pieces of music? currently takes me about one to two weeks is this normal? and does anyone have any ideas on how i could speed up the process???????

juletto

(@undercat)
Prominent Member

It sounds like you're progressing to the point where you're no longer new to the game, and that means you're going to find that you start to have greater control over how fast you learn, based on how deeply you want to learn a song.

Enough of the generalities though...

If you're willing to pick songs that are mostly just chords or learn adaptations of songs that have been broken down to straight strumming and chord changes, you should be approaching a point where you can learn a song virtually instantly providing there are no chord shapes that are foreign to you and you're not dealing with lots of weird stops or anything of that nature.

If you're talking about learning a song note for note off a recording, then that changes the game entirely. If you're talking about memorizing the words and singing while playing, again, you're altering the formula. In these situations, it could easily take you two weeks to learn a sufficiently complicated song.

If you tell us approximately how much you practice each day and what level of songs you're talking about, we can probably get you a more educated estimate.