Notifications
Clear all

How long to become good?

41 Posts
24 Users
0 Likes
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

This discussion reminds me of one of my students.

He's 16, and has been playing for 3 years. When he started, he played a lot, formed a band, and started gigging at the age of 14. Granted, the music he was playing - punk/ska - wasn't technically demanding, but he was getting paid to play. He met other musicians in the same genre, and started to play in their bands as well.

So now he's 16, and he comes to me for lessons. At the first lesson, I ask him what his goals are, and he tells me he wants to get better at playing. I ask what he means by that, and he says:

When I first started, it was like I got to be very good very fast. Then all of a sudden I hit a wall, and I feel like I haven't improved at all in the last couple of years.

That's a pretty fair assessment. He's self-taught using internet tab, and he managed to learn every tune he needs for the bands he played with. He's done that without ever letting his pinky touch a string, and without ever using an upstroke. But by the standards of his genre, he is not just 'good' - he plays at a professional level, and works steadily with people 4-5 years older than him.

Now he's not 'just' a 14 year old punk rocker anymore. He's a 16 year old performing musician with rapidly broadening musical tastes, and a lot of the stuff he's listening to, like blues, jazz, and classic rock, he reaizes is beyond his technique. He's no longer 'good enough' in his own eyes.

And that's where the only meaningful judgment happens. I know plenty of other guitarists who can play things he can't... but I don't know many performers who started a professional career at age 14 - so how can anyone (objectively) say he isn't already 'good'?

All I can say for sure is that I'm going to make him 'better' :)

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member