Clear all

How to know what key a song is in

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@elpantalla)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hey, I've been playing for a few years now, and I know a bunch of pentatonic scales and stuff. I'm decent at them, but it's not too helpful if I don't know what key a specific song is in. I can usually figure it out with a bit of trial and error, but I know there's another way.

I don't know too much about theory but I know some.

Also I'm an idiot.

:D

One chord is fine.
Two you're pushing it.
Three and you're into jazz.

(@corbind)
Noble Member

Certainly you are NOT an idiot. Key is something you learn through therory. PM me your email address and I'll send you a sheet that will tell you the chords in any key. Figuring out a key is a learned process. Often the first chord is the key.

"Nothing...can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts."

ReplyQuote
(@diceman)
Reputable Member

There is a relationship of all the chords in any given key . I'll start with the key of C .

C...F...G7 . If you count the notes of the scale (do , re , mi , fa , sol , la , ti , do) starting with C as 1 , then F is 4 , and G7 is 5 .

C D E F G A B C
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

The 1 , 4 and 5 chords can be used to play the majority of songs ever written , but not all . There is also a minor key that is related to C in that it uses the exact same notes in its scale . This key is Am . So starting from A ...

A B C D E F G A
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

The 1 , 4 and 5 chords in this relative minor key are Am ... Dm ... and E7 . So in all we have : C......F......G7......Am......Dm......E7 .