How to strum with thumb and fingers?

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@kenllh)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi Guys,

When learning a song with finger picking and strumming, how to i actually strum without a pick?

Do u use the flesh of the thumb or the nail of the thumb? When doing upward strokes, do u use the fingernails or...?

Say if i have a strumming pattern dw,dw,up,up,dw,up how do i exactly come about without using pick?

Any advise with pics, or sites with videos would be very much appreciated. I'm a noob, so i might be very confused if the explanations are complexing....

Rgds,
Kenny

I fell in luv wit my G440C Takamine~ :)

(@embrace_the_darkness)
Honorable Member

I use my thumb for both downstrokes and upstrokes, and I use the fleshy part of the thumb to strike the strings.

When you first start to do this, it feels weird and it doesn't seem like it will work; I remember that very clearly from my own early strumming days!

Downstrum is just a sweep over the strings with the thumb from top (E) to bottom (e) - almost like you are playng an arpeggio but in a fast way, without picking out each string, instead just sweeping over them.

Upstrums are slightly different, in that you are not strumming your thumb down the string, but using your wrist to pull your thumb up the strings - this feels even weirder than the downstrum to begin with!

Most important thing is to keep your wrist LOOSE. You are not anchoring your wrist and moving your thumb - you are moving your WHOLE lower arm to make the strumming motions.

I'm sure everyone will have a slightly different way of actually doing these actions (and others will probably have better explanations too!), you just have to keep at it and find the way that feels right to you.

As for using nails, thats a taste option - some people like the sound of nails on strings, for others it's like nails on chalkboard. If you DO use your nails, don't strum too hard (or be prepared to break your nails a lot!).