Clear all

I hate F chords

21 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@andtiggertoo)
Topic starter  

Hello...
This is my first post here--I just registered tonight. This is a cool site, by the way!
Anyway... My guitar is a Washburn twelve-string. I started playing about a year ago. I'm a female with small hands, and I tell ya--I still have a lot of trouble with chords like F and B. :(
Am I the only one with this problem?
Any suggestions would be warmly welcomed!!!! :o

(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

It took me a year to get an F-chord without hospital visits.

Welcome to GN!

Roy
"I wonder if a composer ever intentionally composed a piece that was physically impossible to play and stuck it away to be found years later after his death, knowing it would forever drive perfectionist musicians crazy." - George Carlin

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to GN, first of all!!!

F and B chords aren't just tricky for those with small hands - I have huge hands, and I had trouble with them to start with. The trick is placement - practise them slowly (say from C to F and back, and maybe from E to B and back. It doesn't matter how slowly you play them, in time speed, strength and muscle memory will build up. Obviously, once you've got them right at a slow speed, try increasing speed....and don't just concentrate on the chords you really have trouble with!!! There are plenty of easy chords as well....

In a few months time you'll be wondering why you ever thought they were tricky - trust me, patience and practise are the magic words!!!

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@andtiggertoo)
Topic starter  

Thanks for the welcome! Nice to know it's not just me...for a change. haha...
I haven't been to the E.R. yet, rparker...but sometimes feel like smashin' my guitar!!!! ...But that's just the "little voices"--they talk to me too!