Skip to content
I need help! Please...

Notifications
Clear all

I need help! Please answer if you play Electric Guitar.

13 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@medarrah)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Okay. I am having problems playing my Electric Guitar. It is my second guitar, but the one before it was a Acoustic, and I got rid of that one. So im still getting used to the Electric One, and ive had it for about 5 Months now. But my problem is, I dont know how to like, actually play it "Right." I always end up strumming it as if it was a Acoustic Guitar, and I dont know how to play it the correct way. I've tried, and practiced, but it just isn't working.
If you have any advice, and could help me, please respond! Its starting to drive me crazy, because I cant get it... :cry:

PS: im REALLY new to this... but Whats a bend? Sorry. Im a newbie, and dont get any of that yet.

Thanks in Advance.

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

A bend is when you start by fretting a string on one fret, then push or pull it to stretch it so it sounds like it's playing a note a fret or two higher. That lets you smoothly "slide" up to that pitch, then waver up and down to it in a smooth vibrato somewhat like a singer. Or a slide guitarist with a bottleneck on his finger.
8)

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

Welcome to Guitarnoise medarrah.
I dont know how to like, actually play it "Right." I always end up strumming it as if it was a Acoustic Guitar
Nothing wrong with that.
It's a guitar, play it like a guitar :wink:

I strum my electric, and play fingerstyle on it.
I also play single note melodies.
PS: im REALLY new to this... but Whats a bend?

Fret a note somewhere in the middle of the fretboard, maybe 8th fret-second string.
Pick the string.
Now, while the note is still sounding, use your fretting finger and push the string sideways (in my example, towards the 3rd string).
Make sure to keep the note fretted as you do this.