Notifications
Clear all

I Need Help w/Very Serious Problem Picking 32nd Notes

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@bartana75)
Topic starter  

I have been playing the guitar for about 18 years. After taking a long break of several years I started playing again about 7 or 8 months ago, but have run into a problem that has been present all 18 years. I can't pick 32nd notes for more than a few seconds without my forearm on my picking arm completely cramping up and leaving me unable to continue playing. I try to put in 2-3 hours of practice a day and do so seriously, using a metronome, etc.... I can tremolo pick with no problem for minutes on end without my arm stiffening or cramping, all of the Slayer stuff and the really tight Fear Factory style riffs. I can tap, sweep arpeggios over all 6 strings, play fast and tight with all down strokes, 16th notes, etc..... but when I try to pick 32nd notes, whether playing a scale or a rythem on an open string, my forearm almost instantly cramps up and becomes completely stiff, so stiff that I can't even move it up and down just a little bit to pick 1 note. If I can't find a way to overcome this problem my playing will never be able to progress any further. Another guitar forum told me that I should go see a doctor. I will gladly welcome any and all advice that anyone who reads this can offer. Thanks in advance.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

The problem isn't 32nd notes, it's tension at tempo. (Trust me, I had the same problem once)

Note values are relative. 32nd notes at a largo tempo (say 40bpm) equal 320 notes per minute... which is the same as eighth notes at a presto tempo of 160 bpm. So the start of the problem is just psychological - you're thinking 32nd notes are "too fast" and that makes you choke.