Skip to content
If any, what books ...

Notifications
Clear all

If any, what books are you all learning from?

41 Posts
30 Users
0 Likes
(@chuckster)
Prominent Member

I recently acquired Blues You Can Use following the recommendations from the good folk here.

Haven't had the time to get into it properly yet but I have done the first Lesson. Good stuff so far.

8)

I've had a lot of sobering thoughts in my time.
It was them that turned me to drink.

ReplyQuote
(@dagwood)
Noble Member

+1 for BYCU

I also started out with Troy Stetina's "Total Rock" that is besides the 'absolute' beginners books I bought. They all helped in learning chords and the basics of music theory, which sooner or later we all need to learn. (I'm still learning).

I liked Troy's early on, cuz I was 'jammin' really in only about 10 minutes. The first few lessons are very simple and they're alot of fun too. Especially for a first time player like I was/am.

NOTE: You have to play the CDs that come with these books or you'll never know what your supposed to sound like :)

(I only mention that cuz a friend of mine has a virtual library of books, but he's never put any CD in when he practices till I harped on him about it and we tried one together...hehehe oh you should've seen his face light up).

Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing. - Wernher Von Braun (1912-1977)

ReplyQuote
(@matteo)
Honorable Member

i bought an excellent book of a French guitarist (check it at http://www.mega-muse.com ), unfortunately it is available only in French and italian. I developed only the rhyhthm guitar part until last week when I first played the E-blues scale

Then I bought an Acoustic guitar for beginners book complete with dvd, quite good because it deals with a loto of different styles inluding reggae, bossa-nova, blues etc. I did not complete the last five or six exercises otugh