Skip to content
I'm brand new to th...

Notifications
Clear all

I'm brand new to this and need some guidance.

12 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@lostone)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone, I'm new to playing guitar and know very little about it.
I had a few questions that I was hoping could be answered through other players on this forum. So here they go:

1. What should I learn first?
2. Do I have to know how to read music in order to be good at guitar or will tabs suffice?
3. How can I make sure my guitar is tuned? Is there a way without buying a tuner?

I have a lead guitar that I will try to play with. It needs to be restrung which I'm sure for that I can easily find a tutorial online somewhere to do.

I appreciate any help with this because I would really love to start playing guitar and music in general.
Thanks

(@liontable)
Estimable Member

Hi there, welcome to the cool kids' hobby!

I was in the exact same spot as you a few months ago, but having a teacher quickly solved that for me. I'd recommend taking one, and if you're somewhat lucky you'll find a great one.

1. Chords, a lot of songs are made up of 3 or even less chords. This means that once you master a few you can already play a lot of songs. There are tons of good youtube videos explaining it, lessons on this site or books (ask some of the local dinosaurs still familiar with these papery things!). It gets you a bit more familiar with the guitar. It's also good to try and learn some licks so you can have a bit of change between learning chords. It might get a bit boring to always try the same thing, so you look for things like the "Smells Like Teen Spirit"-solo or probably the most-used for beginners "Smoke On The Water" (0-3-5--0-3-6-5--0-3-5-3-0 on your D-string). Learn the G, C, D chords first, then pick up E and A, and them Em and Am will come easily. With these you can probably play half your ipod/CD collection of pop songs.