I'm getting distressed!

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@matthew)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hey guys, I need some guidance.

I'm in my last year of my four year university program. I started playing acoustic guitar two years ago. At this point I own a fender acoustic/electric DG14, and a Jay Turser strat knock off. I love my acoustic guitar, I'm deffinatly an acoustic guy. My JT I mostly use to play at night (headphones), or to work on my solo pattern speed.

Anyway, since I'm at university for 8 months of the year, I only take lessons durring the summer. I tried to take lessons with another teacher in the winter, but they both have their own course styles, so I never felt the extra cash I was spending was helping enough durring the winter. I love my summer teacher, and he knows my situation and always puts me last so I can get some extra time, and tries to keep me moving at a good pace. However, this year at school has been crazy. I have oodles of projects, seminars, papers, and research to do. I went all last week without touching a guitar. I picked it up yesterday and I didn't know what to do with it!

My residence complex actually has open mic nights in the lounge once a month, and I've been to listen to the other guys. I know it's not a competition, but I often think "I could play that better." Except when I try, I often find I don't think I sound as nice. Technically it's as good if not better, but when I strum chords, there's some scratching, or squeaking, or emphasis on certain strings that just make it not sound as "smooth". I remember spending hours last year strumming slowly and constnatly, trying to build up a constant tone with my strums, but I think I jsut don't have "the touch" even if my technical skill is good.