Clear all

I'm thinking of trying again

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@otto6457)
Topic starter  

First time poster.

A few years ago I finally stepped up and bought a guitar and signed up for lessons with a well respected and long time teacher. I was a decent drummer back in my younger days and I always envied the guitarists. They could make music anytime and the girls loved them. Drummers were a necessary evil and the girls settled for them. ( ok....not entirely true, but true enough to be funny)

Anyway, after getting my guitar and starting lessons, I practiced pretty hard and I didn't make much progress. I really struggled and it got to where I dreaded going to my lessons because I never seemed to get better. After 6 months I still couldn't play a song and I didn't do much better with the scales she wanted me to learn. It was like my fingers weren't connected to my brain very well. It just seemed like I never retained any of the lessons. I could tell that she was disappointed in my progress and we both kind of realized that I wasn't going to ever be a guitarist. She kept re-scheduling my lessons towards the end and it might be 3 weeks between lessons which made it harder to practice things that I just couldn't grasp. I finally gave up back in February of 2011 and stuck my guitar back in it's case and put it in a closet. I quit coming to the guitar forums and tried to forget the entire episode.