Clear all

Improving chord changes, techniques, etc

12 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@stacktrayce)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I have been playing for a few months learning mostly from the internet and I've also played with a couple friends who have helped. I am working on the speeds of some chord changes and such and want to make sure I am not picking up bad habits. One of the things I have read about is to try to minimize extraneous motion as well as not "dribble" your fingers onto the strings. I definitely have a fair amount of that, mostly in terms of lifting my ring finger high up off the strings on A shape barre positions and some open chords. My switches between A shape and E shape could be quicker as well. My G (w/ little finger on high E string) to C and back are much slower than my others due to how I bring my little finger into my grip, I tend to put it down first on the high E and then get my other fingers from there. But if I try to change my technique I am much slower on most of these changes. Is this something I should concentrate on in terms of putting 1/4 of my practice towards it? Any particular tips or exercises anyone could recommend?

(@clau20)
Reputable Member

I had the same problem with the G chords (with the pinky on the 3rd fret of the 1st string) when I had to change from C to G...

But I practice it to stop that bad habit (put the pinky before all other finger of the G chord...)

I don't have a magic advice, but I can tell you how I did it... PRACTICE..

In more details:

Change to G chord SLOWLY and concentrate on moving ALL your fingers at the same time. Watch closely. Your fingers have to get used to that movement and that will become automatic.