Clear all

Instuctional Book

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@aroundtheclaxon)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hi, I'm new to the forums. I've played guitar for awhile. A few years ago I started playing and was terrible i barely could play power chords effectively so i quit. Like 2 years later my friend was learning guitar so i started playing his once in awhile and could finally play some songs and continued to play on his guitar for a few months every chance i got.

Anyways I ended up buying a new guitar because the one i played years ago is junk and ive been practicing for for a few hours a day the last few weeks. I'm definatly not beginner-beginner as i dont have trouble with things like chord changes and other basic technique. Lately Ive been trying to learn some scales and I really want to improve speed and strengthen my hands especially the pinky.

Basically my question is what are some good books for learn from i really wanna buy "Speed Mechanics for the Lead Guitar" but i am worried that it is beyond my skill level any input would be appeciated.............

Sorry for length

Head Arcitech at Vandelay Instudries

(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

i'm not the one to ask about lesson books but i am sure several others will be soon to chime in with some good sources.
just wanted to Welcome you to GN.

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@aroundtheclaxon)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

cool........ but ya any book suggestion are good i mean i wanna play all sorts of music but i figure some shredding is a good place to start

ReplyQuote
(@aroundtheclaxon)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

cmon fellas im going to barnes and noble tommorow so help me out

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

I wouldn't go for that book, as a starter learning tool. The title suggests that it is aimed at intermediate players, who wish to improve speed. I would get someting that will get you to that intermediate level.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.