Intonation help needed on a strat knockoff

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@josephnyc)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi,

I'm pretty new to playing (about 5 month) and loving it.

I've got a cheap strat knockoff (GE39 Assasin by BGuitars) for traveling with and I'm having a difficult time getting the intonation good.

Open strings tune just fine, but as soon as I'm at just about any fret, most of the strings go off-tune. At the 12th fret, 4 out of 6 strings are more than 20hz sharp (I think that's how I read the tuner).

I watched a bunch of youtube videos and followed the instructions, adjusting the string length by turning the little screws on the saddle (clockwise to move saddle back to fix sharpness).

It seems that the adjustments are not affecting the intonation at all -- whether I lengthen or shorten the strings, the degree of sharpness doesn't change much.

Is there something else I could check?

Could it be as simple as needing the replace the new strings (guitar was purchased a few months ago and never played)?

Thank you,

Joseph

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

you could take an actual measurement. there is a precise number you want.
I am sorry I haven't a link to a fretboard scale. search on line.
by knowing the correct numeric distances and then checking your guitar
will let you know if something is grossly wrong or just a millimeter off.
I will look around.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

I won't be long with a full page, and there can be other opinions. Maybe you can still work on your guitar tonight, but it's late on the clock where you're at, NYC?

Anyhow, the guitar looks like it could be a bugger to intonate, if your bridge is high at the back, or trem springs are weak. Some techs and players at large say the strings make a difference, so you could go that route and with light 9's.