Clear all

Is a pick reeeeeally necessary?

33 Posts
21 Users
0 Likes
(@urbancowgirl)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I have been learning to play on an accoustic/electric guitar for about 3 months now and I am really not liking using a pick. I do much better with everything I try just using my fingers. It just seems like too much to keep track of what with putting my fingers on the right frets and then worrying about which strings to hit with the pick. When I use my fingers, it's like I already know where the strings are, like I can feel the song better if that makes any sense. Anyway, I was wondering if it is absolutely necessary to use a pick at this point.

All my life I wanted to be somebody. Now I see I should have been more specific.

(@sin-city-sid)
Prominent Member

I have a friend that never uses a pick, he can't stand them and tares it up with the best of them. So, I would say no, you don't need to use one if you don't want to.

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

A pick is simply a tool that you can choose to use. Or choose not to use. There are a number of guitarists who don't use picks (Mark Knopfler and Jeff Beck come immediately to mind).

That being said, though, it doesn't hurt to be able to do both. Work on it as you see fit.

Peace

ReplyQuote
(@voodoo_merman)
Reputable Member

There is absolutely no need for a pick. Ask Wes Montgommery, Joe Pass, Jeff Beck ect...Its all about the tone you want and the kind of playing you want to do.

At this time I would like to tell you that NO MATTER WHAT...IT IS WITH GOD. HE IS GRACIOUS AND MERCIFUL. HIS WAY IS IN LOVE, THROUGH WHICH WE ALL ARE. IT IS TRULY -- A LOVE SUPREME --. John Coltrane

ReplyQuote
 Bish
(@bish)
Famed Member

I agree with Sin City Sid. You certainly don't need one and if you haven't used one and play fluently, don't start now...LOL.

Bish

"I play live as playing dead is harder than it sounds!"

ReplyQuote
(@rahul)
Famed Member