Skip to content
Is my songbook gett...

Notifications
Clear all

Is my songbook getting out of control at this point?

27 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@minotaur)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

It's no secret that I am a beginner... 9 months of learning and practicing. Such that I don't use the word "playing" lest people think I'm getting too full of myself. :oops: But I do believe I am improving. I can get all the way through a song or two, despite the chord changes being a little rough and hesitant (a Dmaj to Bm is tough; anything to Fmaj is tough, but getting better).

That said, I think I'm getting a little ahead of myself with my songbook. I think it may be out of control at this stage of the game. A couple of times a week, as I'm listening to my iTunes I think "hey, that sounds like it would be great to learn... and it would sound good as a guitar treatment" (That's All - Genesis is the latest).

So I go scouring the internet, and very less often my books, for a chord sheet or tab for it. Most often the tabs and sheets suck (can I say that here?); I've found myself putting tab and chord sheets together to get something that looks decent, and like how I think the song sounds. I copy them into Word, pretty them up and print them out.

My songbook is a 1 1/2" 3 ring binder. I have color tabs for each song, and a printed label (I'm a geek) inserted in each tab, all in alphabetical order by song name. When I add a song, I just stick its divider tab where it goes. Then I have a list printed from my iTunes as an index. I am up to 51 songs in the complete book. I have a few songs that are in my "currently working on list" that I bounce back and forth with, out of the whole 51 songs. I'm not attempting right now to get into all the songs I am collecting. I know they will be down the road.