Learn to play jazz without a teacher?

18 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

I love jazz. I know, it has many substyles and different approaches but in general it is a style that I like to listen in almost every situation.

I'd love to play jazz. It was different with guitars but the bass I think I perhaps could do it (at least now I am a little bit more experienced).

I don't mind to memorize some bass lines, chord progressions or guitar solos. I mean to understand the jazz structures, theory and specific techniques.

Could it be done without the help and guidance of a teacher? Are there enough good books for self-taught?

Any comment or advice is always welcome!

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Perhaps the best jazz musician of all time was Charlie Parker - who was self taught. So it can be done.

Parker shared his secret in a radio interview: he practiced 11-15 hours a day, everyday, for about 4 years.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

All I know about Jazz can be written on the head of a pin. However, there are some Jazzy chords that I like to noodle with. Mainly a lot of movable 7th and 9th chords. Perhaps it's kind of the mindless equivalent to whipping through some 12-barre in the Blues world?

I think my one-trick Jazz pony uses a bit of a different strum too. Kind of a firm, quick, snappy strum.....maybe?

Roy
"I wonder if a composer ever intentionally composed a piece that was physically impossible to play and stuck it away to be found years later after his death, knowing it would forever drive perfectionist musicians crazy." - George Carlin

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

Perhaps the best jazz musician of all time was Charlie Parker - who was self taught. So it can be done.

Parker shared his secret in a radio interview: he practiced 11-15 hours a day, everyday, for about 4 years.