Clear all

Learning a Song

15 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@jadda918)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

When u learn a song(assuming u learn it piece by piece) do you learn the whole song then master it or do u master it piece by piece.

Thanks in advance :D

"Life Is Beautiful,
Life Is A Struggle,
Life Is A Beautiful Struggle" - Mos Def

Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

Learn the first section then, learn the second section and play the two together. And so on and so on....

By the time you get to the end, your song will be almost mastered. Only 500 more times will really sink it into your head.

Have fun.

ReplyQuote
(@jadda918)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

thanks for the reply, but im trying to learn a piece and i "learned" the first 2 parts but there not perfect (i know what to do just struggling alittle on changing chords). Should i try to learn the rest or get what i know right first. If u can't tell im new at this and this is my first song.

Thanks

"Life Is Beautiful,
Life Is A Struggle,

ReplyQuote
(@pappajohn)
Honorable Member

Chord changes are going to among the more trying things to get down perfectly - it really only comes with repetition.

I would keep on going with the next part, but also be playing the first and second parts. By the time you've learned the whole song, you'll probably have gotten those chord changes down cold. Odds are, you'll be making alot of the same or similar chord changes throughout the song.

-- John

"Hip woman walking on a moving floor, tripping on the escalator.
There's a man in the line and she's blowin' his mind, thinking that he's already made her."

'Coming into Los Angeles' - Arlo Guthrie

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

I never move on to the next section without NAILING the section(s) before.