Notifications
Clear all

learning multiple songs?

17 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@eak000)
Topic starter  

I've been taking guitar for about 4-5 months, so I'm still a rank beginner. I'm curious what others are doing when learning new songs. Do you learn one song until you have it down pretty well, then add another, or do you add more songs to learn while the others are still quite rough? I am adding about one song a week, even though I have nowhere near mastered the previous ones. I wonder if I would be better served by mastering the ones I already have before adding new ones? I realize this is all relative and will be different for everyone, but I'm curious what other beginners are doing?

(@mmoncur)
Estimable Member

I did the same thing, adding one song every week or so and never mastering them. I think that's OK, each song teaches you a new technique or a new chord. Eventually I would leave a song behind because it got frustrating, but I come back to it after a month or two of practicing other songs and suddenly I can play it!

There are some songs I still can't get right after nearly 2 years, and others that I can play perfectly now. And I never know which is which until I try. So I think the more songs the better.

ReplyQuote
(@joehempel)
Famed Member

when I started learning, I would pick a technique that I wanted to learn and find songs that had that technique in it and practice the song until I got the technique down and then kind of move on.

In Space, no one can hear me sing!

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

when I want to record a song I tend to stick with the one song.
I internalize it. the song is played in my head all day long. I play the song and work out tricky parts until I am satisfied with them. then I hit the Red button.
generally, I play a bunch of songs all at the same time. some I play well, some I don't.
but I do this for my whole life time. so now after many years I know the songs well, having figured them out along the way.