Notifications
Clear all

Learning the notes

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@polishdude20)
Topic starter  

so what is a good way for me to memorize the notes on each fret and were they are all through guitar?

(@gothardb)

One of the methods would be learning scales. Well, you could look in my friends blog. At the end of the page there is a link to some website, where you can learn all the notes of the fretboard pretty easy. I'm saying it only because i know how good he's is at playing guitar, and he really knows every fret of the guitar. I have no idea how did he learn it, but probably using this.. thing xD. Once he told me about this website, but.. dunno i think it's too hard for me to learn, because it could take so much time.

Sry for my english, i'm still learning. Nobody's perfect :P (and i'm nobody :D )
I love making solos - http://sologuru.wordpress.com/

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

When I did it, I made flash cards - there were 21 cards in my set (one for each letter name, one for each letter with a sharp, and one for each with a flat). I'd shuffle my little deck, flip one over, and find that note as quickly as I could on all six strings.

I spent about 15-20 minutes a day at it for about 3 weeks, after which I knew the fretboard notes cold. (Figuring out how to apply that knowledge is still ongoing...)

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@whoelse)
Estimable Member

Another tool for learning through repetitive practice is Ricci Adams "Guitar Trainer".

He's also got a "Note Trainer" for learning to read music.

http://www.musictheory.net/index.html

Try it out, it's free and I've found it's helped. I just have to keep using it to try to overcome excessive short-term memory loss. :roll: AGE RELATED, not what you were thinking :evil: ... o.k., well maybe a long time ago... :lol:

Dave "Who" Else

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

There's also fretboard warrior - free online tool to teach all the notes.