Notifications
Clear all

Les Paul Question

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@almost_famous)
Topic starter  

I'm pretty new to guitar, but I used to play bass, so I know about how they work tech-wise (I'm also into that stuff, so I take time to learn about it). Anyways... I was looking at some gibson les pauls the other day, and i noticed the rythm/lead switch on them... what the heck does that do? I assume that it alters your sound some how, but how? and what is the difference between the two?? I don't really want to take one down at the shop, cause they are all in the range of several thousand dollars, and I also hate to loudly annouce to the whole store how bad i am at guitar. yeah... anyone?

Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

I'm pretty new to guitar, but I used to play bass, so I know about how they work tech-wise (I'm also into that stuff, so I take time to learn about it). Anyways... I was looking at some Gibson les Paul's the other day, and i noticed the rhythm/lead switch on them... what the heck does that do? I assume that it alters your sound some how, but how? and what is the difference between the two?? I don't really want to take one down at the shop, cause they are all in the range of several thousand dollars, and I also hate to loudly annouce to the whole store how bad i am at guitar. yeah... anyone?

There are two pickups on the Les Paul, one at the neck and one at the bridge. The one at the neck is more bass and the one at the bridge is more treble. The switch setting lets you choose both together in the middle setting or one or the other with the other two settings. Lead is just the bridge pickup and rhythm is the neck pickup.

Personally I think they should have been labeled treble and bass

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@almost_famous)
Topic starter