Clear all

Licks, Riffs, Bridges Etc.

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@slowhand)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello, im new to playing guitar and i would like to know what the differense is between Licks, Riffs and Bridges is, and what the definition of it is and if there is more to music than those 3 :D In advance thank you

(@kroikey)
Reputable Member

Hi there, I'm not exactly an expert myself but I think I can answer this one.

Riffs and Licks are the same thing, a repeating pattern of notes used to add a signature to a song. I dont think I've ever heard a catchy tune without a riff.

A bridge is best described in context: A song is often described in parts like Intro, Verse , Chorus. A bridge is a part of a song that is melodically different and usually leads into the final part of the song (final verse, chorus or outro).

ReplyQuote
(@slowhand)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

yhanks :)

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Ah, but what about chops and hooks?

8)

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

Ah, but what about chops and hooks?

8)

I'm pretty bad at choppy-riff-hooks, but am working on 'em. I'm getting e-lessons.

Roy
"I wonder if a composer ever intentionally composed a piece that was physically impossible to play and stuck it away to be found years later after his death, knowing it would forever drive perfectionist musicians crazy." - George Carlin

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

chops is a qualifier, in a way. 'you have great chops, your riff was amazing'.
hook is different. it is also a qualifier...'wow, that song has a great hook'. not necessarily a guitar part. it could be the lyric or song structure itself.
I could be wrong about that one.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@hbriem)
Honorable Member