Notifications
Clear all

Looking for songs with chords and notes

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@zedra)
Topic starter  

Hi! I'm a beginner with about 8 lessons behind me, and I'm looking for printed music that shows both the chords to play and the notes in between. It's surprisingly hard to find - there's either sheet music with just notes and no chords, or chords with no notes. My instructor worked out the notes in between the chords on a one piece for me, but there are only so many weeks I can play the same song - I need something new! So, where can I find these songs? Or at least, what is this type of sheet music called, so I can go to a music store and ask for it? Can I find it somewhere online?
Thanks

(@alangreen)

At this early stage, check out the new syllabus from Trinity College London, the "Trinity Rock and Pop Exams." The first three books for guitar came out two weeks ago, and there's a mix of chord and single note work to get to grips with. My students have responded well to the material.

Songs include: Black Betty (Leadbelly), I Walk the Line (Johnny Cash), I Love rock & Roll (Joan Jett), and Pretty Vacant (Sex Pistols). Well worth checking out and you dont have to take the exams.

Alternative: Registry of Guitar Tutors/ London College of Music Rock Guitar Playing. Not so much the Grade books, but the bookswith the songs in them. Graded Guitar Songs comes in in two volumes, one for beginners (up to Grade 3) and one for Intermediates which covers Grades 4 and 5. Songs in the Beginner book include Smells Like Teen Spirit (Nirvana), Sunshine of your Love (Cream) and Pinball Wizard. These two books are published by Hal Leonard.

Both exam boards use versions that are playable by students with developing skillsets. the songs are cut down so you get some verse and chorus work, some single note stuff and some chords, and "All Right Now" from the RGT Book even has a cut down version of the famous solo.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"