Clear all

Major cracking. correct guitar form.

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@welchsboy)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I don't know whether or not this is because I'm still new at guitar playing, or if it's bad form, but after playing for an hour or two, I rarely ever feel any pain, but I'll take a "stretch" break, and when I extend and rotate my left arm, it sounds like I'd just cracked and shuffled around every single bone in my left arm. It's slightly unsettling while it's happening, but it'll feel REALLY good afterwards...perhaps I'm playing too down low because I'm trying to look at my fretting hand? I don't know if this happens to anyone else, I've always been one of those guys who could never get his bones to crack, until now :/

Just FYI, I play an electric with the guitar situated on my right leg, and the neck parallel to the floor, and while playing I will bend the neck up at a slight angle towards the direction of my head. I also rotate my waist slightly to the right because otherwise it's harder to support the slightly raised angle.

Erm I should probably provide a picture but I don't have the camera with me :/

(@chris-c)
Famed Member

I've seen a heck of a lot of different opinions on posture. Many classical guys are really fussy about it, whilst some rockers don't seem to care less.

I think that a certain amount of creaking and groaning from the body is inevitable when you do something physically demanding in a new way. So the main thing is not to overdo things while your body gets used to it.