Notifications
Clear all

Major Help!

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@marthalue)
Topic starter  

so im new at this whole guitar thing. i know some chords and where to put my fingers and everything but actually playing the chord is a little tricky. the chord sounds awful! every time sadly.. i dont know what i am doing wrong =/ some help is VERY much needed. thank you :]

Ande
(@ande)
Prominent Member

More experienced players than me, and probably some teachers, will chime in shortly. But I wanted to jump in with a word of support just in case it takes them a while.

To get chords to ring out and sound right when you play them takes developing strength, flexibility, and muscle memory. FOr them to sound awful at the beginning is totally normal. Anyone who says it isn't is either lyin a bit, or is so old they no longer remember starting out.

There may be other reasons, though, and this forum is a good place to look for some. The more you can describe what you're doing, the more you'll get help. Some possibilities that occur to me:

Are you pressing directly ON the frets? A lot of newbs do, but you'll be much better off pressing the string just ABOVE the fret, towards the headstock.

Or a common techy problem- how high is your action? If your strings are too high, it's gonna take a lot more effort to put them down....

I'm sure there are many more possibilities, but the truth is- whatever the "problem" is, the solution is usually simply- keep at it! Practice fixes most problems, sooner or later.

Welcome!
Ande

ReplyQuote
(@adrianjmartin)
Estimable Member

I'm not an expert, not even an good amateur.... :?

But it just takes practice, lots of practice....something 'The Books' shy off is telling you how much practice 'it' takes. It takes years...In my experience...in about ten I may be happy :wink:

Two thing that helped me improve: