Clear all

Mel Bay! Anyone still learning?

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@xephon)
Topic starter  

Hello!

I have been playing the guitar for about 2 months now. My teacher has me on the Mel Bay Grade 1 book. I dont mean to bash this book at all, since it has taught me how to read music to an OK level. HOWEVER,

Right now I am about 75% done with this book but I dont think I can bear to learn another one of these mind numbingly, earth shatteringly boring songs. The songs were fine in the beginning since they taught you a lot of the basics you needed to read music and they got you comfortable playing, but now just the thought of devoting half an hour to learn something that sounds like chicken scratch is really becoming a turn off to these lessons.

Is anyone else who has a teacher using the Mel Bay book having these same problems?
I feel im learning more just by practicing easy songs I find online than with this book.
Any advice on what to tell my teacher?

Thanks! :)

(@pilot7)
Estimable Member

I never liked guitar until I got rid of the teacher and started teaching myself playing what I wanted to play when I wanted to play.

ReplyQuote
(@margaret)
Noble Member

Maybe try bringing some of your other stuff (such as what you've printed out from GN, or go shopping and buy a book you like that's within your reach to learn at this point) along to your lesson. Just say, "Hey, I found this and I'd really like to work it up. Can you listen and give me some pointers?"

If the teacher can't be flexible and let you, as an adult, help guide the direction of your learning, dump him/her (JMHO). Maybe supplementing the basic techniques in a "lesson" book with some fun stuff where you can apply those techniques would be just the ticket.

But I say you should give the teacher a chance first. Just be upfront and say you're burned out on the book. Unless your teacher IS Mel Bay, they shouldn't take it personally. :lol:

Margaret

When my mind is free, you know a melody can move me