Skip to content
My first week with ...

Notifications
Clear all

My first week with a guitar in my hands.

17 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@starbucks)
Topic starter  

Hey all,

Something I've always wanted to do was learn to play guitar. I finally reached a point where I said to myself "Just buy one and learn it, you slacker." So Friday night, after receiving my wife's blessing, I bought a cheapie 6-string acoustic, fired up the beginner lessons in Garageband on my Mac, and starting strumming some chords.

So far, I like it a lot, and I fully realize that it will take a great deal of time, patience, and practice to become somewhat proficient.

This site looks like a goldmine of good stuff for beginners. I'm wondering if there are any additional online resources out there that you might recommend for a total newbie, or general bits of advice you may have to help me get the most of my practice/playing time?

Any and all advice is welcome!

Cheers

(@davidhodge)

Hi and welcome to Guitar Noise.

We've just recently had a few discussions on this very topic. You'll find them here:

https://www.guitarnoise.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47268

https://www.guitarnoise.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46944

And I'm sure others will pitch in with their choices as well.

Hope this helps. Welcome again and I look forward to seeing you around the boards.

Peace

ReplyQuote
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

Yes, it is a great site. I agree. For beginners, intermediates and advanced players.

The main site has many articles on guitar and guitar related stuff. They contain really good advices. There is also zone with Songs for Beginners. I don't remember exactly but there are around 30 songs. Learn the songs but also read the article. They are written by David Hodge (dhodge), I learnt a lot of new things there.

And read this thread:

https://www.guitarnoise.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=35807

Welcome to GN.

ReplyQuote
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member