Notifications
Clear all

Need direction in lessons

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@burningwaves)
Topic starter  

I've been taking private guitar lessons regularly since October, but I played for about a year when I was 8 and again when I was 13 so I'm not a total beginner. I absolutely love my current instructor; he gives me alot of freedom in deciding what we do. So far all we've done is learn songs. I don't want to spend the entire course of the lessons doing basically the same things over and over, but I don't know what else I should be learning. I want to be a good musician in general, not just someone who plays covers. What other things should I be learning?
P.S. If it helps, I'm mostly interested in playing alternative rock/punk/metal, stuff in that general area, and I hope to be in a band some day.

(@alangreen)

Sounds like you missed the opportunity at the first lesson to tell your tutor what it was you wanted to learn. I always make sure it's a question that's asked in the very first lesson.

Write down the two or three things you most want to learn right now. It's not going to be song titles, it's going to be things like "how do I know which chords work in which key?" "how do I read standard notation?" "how do I work out a song from the record?" "when's a good time to use a diminished chord?" and things like that.

Then tell your tutor what it is you've written down. It's his job to get you there. If he doesn't buy in to your list with enthusiasm then he's just using your lessons to part you from your hard-earned cash; change tutor.

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@staffan)
Estimable Member