Clear all

need help purchasing first guitar

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
 envy
(@envy)
Topic starter  

I need help choosing a guitar to learn on, i have zero experience with guitars and dont really know where to start, my budget is $300 $350 at max, i will be starting off learning nirvana songs first most likely so would like something to get that type of sound-

(@xfiles)

Wouldn't mind an answer to the same actually. Got my self a cheap hand down from a friend and now its time to upgrade to something a bit better.

ReplyQuote
oldstrummer
(@oldstrummer)
Trusted Member

The first question I would ask you is, "acoustic, or electric?" Skipping, for the moment, the acoustic-electric guitars, I'd have to know what you intend to play.

If you choose electric, then you also have to factor in (i.e., budget money) an amp, cord(s), and perhaps an assorted pedal or two. Acoustics are just that: portable, don't require amplification, and great learning tools. But they play different from electrics (usually heavier gauge strings, different neck action, etc.).

By what I've read, possibly the best acoustic you can get for the money these days is the Fender FA-100 Dreadnought with gig bag ($119.99 at Amazon). Amazon's best-seller in the beginner acoustic category is the Fender Squier Acoustic bundle, which includes the guitar, gig bag, clip-on tuner, extra strings, strap, picks, Austin Bazaar instructional DVD, and polishing cloth, for the price of $139.99.

You might be surprised at my suggestion for an electric. take a look at the Pignose PGG-200 Deluxe Electric Guitar with Built-In Amp ($318.45 at Amazon). I have two Pignose amps that have lasted me years, and their products are top-notch. The built-in amplifier means le$$ to spend on an amp. At least at first.