Notifications
Clear all

need help re: buying a new guitar

12 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@vgnewsom)
Topic starter  

okay, I'm not really a beginner as I played for a very long time and quit due to severe tendinitis. I spent pretty much the past ten years not playing at all and also gave away/sold all of my guitars. A few months ago I decided to start playing again, but I wasn't sure enough that my shoulder/wrist could handle it, so I bought a $99 guitar thinking I would use that for a while and see if this is something I can really keep doing. Surprisingly, this cheapo guitar isn't half bad. It's a Rogue Grand Concert from Musician's Friend. I had a good set-up done on it and put on some elixirs on it and it plays pretty nicely although I do have some problems with barre chords on it and the sound unplugged is nothing to write home about. Okay, so here's my question: I'm able to at this point buy something new and better but am pretty much limited to about $500. Everything I am finding in that price range in a Grand Concert size body (I need to stick with a smaller body as it seems to really reduce the tendinitis problems for me.) I've been looking at an Ibanez AEG20 at $399 at GC. It feels really comfortable, and definitely sounds better than the $99 guitar and has slightly better playability but certainly not at the level of higher end guitars. I've also been looking at Breedloves and one of the lower end Taylors (the 314CE.) I need some advice here. I know that no one can make the decision for me, but if it were you, would you go ahead and buy the slightly more playable and better sounding Ibanez even though it has a laminated top, or would you stick with the cheapo for probably another year and save up for the Breedlove or Taylor? Also, does anyone know anything about this Ibanez AEG20? It seems like it a pretty decent guitar, but I can't help thinking that if I am going to spend $399 on it, I should maybe go an extra $100 or whatever to get to a really basic soli