Clear all

Need tips on barring

23 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@darthnihlus)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for 2 months now and am wondering if there are tips or tricks to barring. I understand that practice will help but wanted to know if there are any tips some more experienced players.

Specifically, the F chord played as 11230X. The cords I play are Am, F, C, G. The transition is pretty easy from Am to F (mini barre) by barring 1st and 2nd string at the 1st fret and moving the 3rd finger from 3rd string 2nd fret to 3rd string 3rd fret. The first string usually gets muted when attempting the barre with the pad of the 1st finger tip.

Thanks in advance.
T

lars
(@lars)
Noble Member

Two standard tips for barre chords:
- turn the index finger somewhat, so more of the side of the finger hits the strings
- point your thumb somewhat towards the headstock

What I really wanted to say was that you should notate chords the other way around - i.e. not 11230x, but x03211 - that's kind of the standard - even for lefties ;-)

oh - and welcome to GN

lars

...only thing I know how to do is to keep on keepin' on...

LARS kolberg http://www.facebook.com/sangerersomfolk

ReplyQuote
(@nirvgas)
Estimable Member

Darth,
Make sure that you're placing your finger as close to the fret as possible (this goes for all chords). Also, it helps to roll your index finger a little bit towards the nut of the guitar so that you're using the "bonier" portion of the finger instead of the fatty portion. This should also help with the accidental muting of the first string.

Life is my friend
Rake it up to take it in
Wrap me in your cinnamon
Especially in Michigan
...well I could be your friend- RHCP

ReplyQuote
(@darthnihlus)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

What I really wanted to say was that you should notate chords the other way around - i.e. not 11230x, but x03211 - that's kind of the standard - even for lefties ;-)
lars
Maybe that is the reason my F sounded like crap!! :shock: