Skip to content
Need to find a good...

Notifications
Clear all

Need to find a good instructional book...

11 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@cookiedude)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I just got my first guitar around a week ago, and so far it is sweet. I have been trying to learn some basic chords and some easy parts of songs, but other than that, I don't really know where to go. I'm too cheap to pay for guitar lessons, so I am looking for a good instructional book that will teach me different techniques and chords and scales and all that stuff. I went to the bookstore the other day, and there's like a million different ones, so I decided to get some advice from you guys as to which guitar book would be the best to start with for an absolute beginner. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

I am a beginner myself so I can't speak with any authority but I found that books with accompaning DVDs or videos really help alot. You can then actually see and hear whats suppose to be done.
Hal Leonard books have been a help.

ReplyQuote
(@martha)
Eminent Member

I brought home pretty much everything that my local library had on the Guitar, and I can honestly say that none of the books really compare in usefulness to the Beginner Lessons here in GN.

David Hodge rocks this world, and somebody should create a Nobel Prize especially for him.

Go through a few GN lessons first - not only will you be more motivated (it's interactive, after all!), but you'll be better prepared to choose books, since you'll actually understand what you're looking at when you flip through them in the bookshop.

You should invest on a good Theory book. Even though GN has many theory lessons, it's always good to have a reference book at hand - especially for those moments when you're not online. ;)

Quiquid latine dictum sit altum viditur.

(Whatever is said in Latin sounds profound.)

ReplyQuote
(@metaellihead)
Honorable Member