Clear all

New 12 String

14 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@davisaggie)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I have been playing acoustic for a couple years now mostly for church and youth type activities. I like the sound of a 12 string and want to get one but am not sure which ones are good, and how much they can run. Currently I play an Ibanez Acoustic/Electric and really like the action on that. Are there any good 12 strings out there for under $600?

(@yoyo286)
Noble Member

Hey davisaggie, welcome to guitarnoise! Yes, there are certanly a few decent 12-stringers under $600. In terms of bang for your buck, I'd recommend a Godin guitar, Seagull to be exact, but any Godin product is high quality. Seagulls are made in Canada with top quality wood. Alot of people really like them. http://www.seagullguitars.com/intro.htm . They aren't very popular, so finding a dealer might be hard, but they have a dealer finder. Another guitar that suprised me was the Fender 12 strings. Either this one http://www.fender.com/products/search.php?partno=0951012021 or this one http://www.fender.com/products/search.php?partno=0951412021 . They aren't as good though, but theyare a whole lot cheaper. :)

Stairway to Freebird!

ReplyQuote
(@yoyo286)
Noble Member

BTW I saw "aggie" in your screenname, does that mean you live in Texas, or even the Austin area???? :shock: Please say yes!! I need a jam partner! 8)

Stairway to Freebird!

ReplyQuote
(@davisaggie)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Sorry yoyo, I don't live in texas. The name refers to my old college mascot, the UC Davis aggies.

ReplyQuote
(@yoyo286)
Noble Member

Aww... shucks... :lol:
Yes, I live in Texas, but no, I'm not a redneck. 8)

Stairway to Freebird!

ReplyQuote
(@davisaggie)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

The guitar store in town here has an ibanez 12 string for $210, is that a good guitar, or should I go with a more expensive model from a different maker?

ReplyQuote
(@david_mohn)
Trusted Member

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)