Notifications
Clear all

New Guitar Player questions?

18 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@firefak)
Topic starter  

Hey there everyone, I'm pretty new to guitar and to Guitar Noise. So here are my questions.

1. The music I'm really interested into is Rock and Metal, so I'm working to get an electric guitar, but for Christmas I got an Acoustic guitar. Don't get me wrong, I love the sound of Acoustic Guitar music and It's portable. I wouldn't mind playing both, yet I've heard the Acoustic Guitar is harder to learn on, and I'm not sure what to practice. So what can I practice on my acoustic to get mke started on guitar?

2. There's the debate of Self Taught and Teachers. Self Taught is neat since you can learn what you want, Teacher's may or may not be boring, but it;s the basics. Which do you think I should do?

3. Would you know of any online sites that would give me great beginner help to start my guitar playing?

Thanks,
Firefak.

(@alangreen)

I've heard the Acoustic Guitar is harder to learn on

Rubbish - this one comes from people who were too lazy to learn
So what can I practice on my acoustic to get me started on guitar?

Anything you like - what are your three favourite songs? Start working on them

There's the debate of Self Taught and Teachers. Self Taught is neat since you can learn what you want, Teacher's may or may not be boring, but it;s the basics. Which do you think I should do?

Get a teacher - Tell him/ her what you want from lessons. If you don't learn what you want from that teacher, change the teacher
Would you know of any online sites that would give me great beginner help to start my guitar playing?

This is a trick question, right? Check out the lessons on this site. Most of us who have written lessons here are professional players and/or professional teachers. We kinda reckon we know what we're about. If there's anything you think isn't covered, ask about it in these forum pages. Somebody will have the answer.

A :-)