Skip to content
New guy with a dece...

Notifications
Clear all

New guy with a decent budget. Advice needed.

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@crnainthemaking)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone,
I am a college student and work close to full time. I have chosen a different career path than racing motocross professionally, which I did for a bit. So I need a new release. With a difficult major in school, I don't have time to work out 5 days a week or race anymore. I can however practice guitar for 1 hour a day.

I have selected a Gibson Studio Deluxe II guitar since it has some versatility to it and is able to match some music I am into. I like bands that range from Everclear and Counting Crows, to Guns N' Roses and Boston, to Nirvana to metal like Parkway Drive and As I Lay Dying.

I saw a brand new amp for sale at my local store. It is an Ampeg GVT52-212. It is on sale for $500 which is a steal! It is 50 watts but can be lowered to 25 watts. It's a tube amp. Think this will be to loud to practice with and play with friends with?

The Ampeg Amp:
http://www.ampeg.com/products/gvt/gvt52-212/

I was also considering a smaller amp (I was thinking about buying both the Ampeg and a small amp to suit practicing better), and have run across several choices. I was leaning towards practice amps more, but if you think a head and cabinet would be more suitable and versatile let me know. I thought electric may be the way to go, but was not sure, since I would be playing at lower volumes.

Combo amps I was looking at were Blackstar HT-5R combo, Roland 40lx or 40gx Cube or a Fender Mustang 2.

I am trying to keep the budget for an amp within $950.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks for reading!

Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member