Notifications
Clear all

Newb Feeling Blue

17 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@jimmy-legs)
Topic starter  

Or rather, I'm thinking about it. I started playing around with the 12 bar blues and my God is it fun! Who are some blues guitarists that you guys listen to? And as far as electrics go, what type of guitar/pick up is typically used and why? Oh, and does anyone have any blues focussed books or tutorials to recommend to a beginner?

(@voodoo_merman)
Reputable Member

Wait 'till you use a slide for the first time. You'll thoroughly enjoy yourself for hours and hours! Anyway, every blues guitarist has at one point or another listened to/studied Robert Johnsons work. You should also give B.B. Kings material a good listen if you are interested in playing the blues.

Any electric will do. Maybe the most popular blues axes are the Stratocaster, Les Paul, Telecaster and Gibson ES355. But, there are many others that are capable of creating a pleasing blues tone. Both humberker and single-coil pups are used.

At this time I would like to tell you that NO MATTER WHAT...IT IS WITH GOD. HE IS GRACIOUS AND MERCIFUL. HIS WAY IS IN LOVE, THROUGH WHICH WE ALL ARE. IT IS TRULY -- A LOVE SUPREME --. John Coltrane

ReplyQuote
(@margaret)
Noble Member

These are the books I've been using the most (both have CDs included, but may also be available without):

Hal Leonard's Guitar Method Blues Guitar by Greg Koch ISBN 0-634-03389-1

National Guitar Workshop Method's Beginning Electric Blues Guitar by David Hamburger ISBN 0-88284-791-0

Also, I recently got:

Hal Leonard's Boogie Blues Riffs by Dave Rubin ISBN 0-634-06927-6
It has "25 classic patterns arranged for guitar in standard notation and tab". These riffs are not lead riffs, but more the underlying boogie rhythm riffs.

Have fun!

Margaret

When my mind is free, you know a melody can move me
And when I'm feelin' blue, the guitar's comin' through to soothe me ~

ReplyQuote
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member