Clear all

Newbie Recommendations

5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@shaolindelt)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone,

First - I am pretty much brand new to guitar playing. Actually, not pretty much . . . I am . . .

Decided to pick it up learning to play and have been jumping around doing a bit of research and figuring out what I need/want to do/etc. So I picked up a used Squier Strat from a local music store, and they are in the process of setting it up and it should be ready for pick up this weekend.

While I'm there, I'm going to pick up a few other things (amp, cable, picks), and I was just wanting to throw it out there - anything else I should be thinking of as I just start out? I'm planning on spending some time on the youtube path, and also going to look for some good books (my degree is in English, I learn best by reading), and then just for fun going to mess around with Rocksmith on the PS3. Any things that you'd recommend me looking at from Day 1, or things I may need in a few weeks?

(@alangreen)

Get a spare set of strings. And a tuner.

Chord cards would be a really useful addition to your collection, as well as some songbooks. With songbooks, get a book that has a bunch of songs by lots of different groups - you might want to play something by Children of Bodom, but if you can't play something by the Spice Girls then you're really going to struggle.

Tune up, get your chord cards in place and play.

Then hit Youtube.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@shaolindelt)
Topic starter  

Get a spare set of strings. And a tuner.