Clear all

Newby questions.

15 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@metrognome)
Topic starter  

Hi everybody,

Nice to meet you all. I picked up a guitar five days ago and I have alot of questions. Hope you guys dont mind.

1. I totally grasp the concept of learning scales and modes and such. But, how on earth do you guys remember all of them in all the keys??? Also, doesnt it take you forever to learn them? I mean, I just started learning the Cmaj scale and it took me about a half hour to get it dialed IN JUST ONE BOX! By then my fingers were ready to fall off!

2. Im interested in rock and blues and a little jazz. What should I be working on besides the maj scale and maj chords? I toyed with the 12 bar thing a bit but it seems to be a little advanced for me. Which brings me to my next question...

3. CHORDS! Better yet, Barre Chords! How on earth do you guys play them??? Can you post some good excersises that may help me out?

Thats about it for now. Thanks alot...

Practice, practice, practice.

(@margaret)
Noble Member

Welcome, MetroGnome, and congratulations on your new guitar adventure! This is the best site to help you on your way.

What kind of guitar are you playing?

I'm still a beginner myself, but I'll tell you what I can to help, and the "big guns" will surely show up sooner or later to give it to you from the expert point of view. :D

Re: scales--learn them a little at a time--don't look at the big picture yet or you'll get overwhelmed. The minor pentatonic scale is one you'll need to know for blues and a lot of rock, I believe. Not sure about jazz. This scale you can learn in sort of a "box" pattern, which is moveable up and down the fretboard.

Re: barre chords--they are tough at first but with practice even I can play a few of them now, and I never thought I would. It takes time to stretch and strengthen and coordinate your fingers, so don't get frustrated if you can't play barre chords five days in. Not many folks can. :wink: