Clear all

Not used to electricity

17 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@frosk)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I bought my first electric of a friend some days ago, and i just brought it home. It's an epi les paul special2 and the amp is a fender frontman 15R. I normally play a baby taylor and the transition is rather hard. It feels like I don't know anything anymore. Putting the epi down and picking up the taylor again feels like such a relief, but I really want to make this electric thing work. I wonder if any of you have any advice for me, any "common problems with going electric"-tips for instance.

1. The guitar sounds rather nice when it's not plugged in, but as I've never used an amp before, I don't really get the different functions and stuff (not that there are many). Which wheel to turn if i want a cleaner tone? The thinnest strings make an awful lot of noise compared to the bass strings. It also starts buzzing if I turn the volume up. Any way to avoid that?

2. The strings feel harder than i'm used to, although they are thinner than the ones on the taylor. I find that I have to press the strings down really hard to actually make a clean tone rather than a thump, and it makes my hand hurt.

It's so much less forgiving. It feels like I have to do everything perfect to make it sound decent.

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

To get a cleaner tone, turn down the gain. More gain also means more noise. Also, as you turn up the "Presence" you'll hear a lot more of that string noise. That's pretty much what "Presence" is.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@steve-0)
Noble Member

You might just need to get a set-up done on your electric guitar: think of it as a tune up on a car, basically it should make playing it alot easier. It does take some time to adjust to an electric but i really think you might need a setup.

Steve-0

ReplyQuote
(@frosk)
Trusted Member
Topic starter