Clear all

Nut width of a USA Deluxe Strat?

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
13.6 K Views
(@stormcrowuk)
Topic starter  

Can anyone who has an American Deluxe Strat confirm the nut width for me? I am a beginner and I am currently using a Fernandes Monterey Elite which has a nut width of 43mm. I am planning on getting a USA Deluxe or maybe a G&L Strat. I recently had a go with a Fender Squire with a nut width of 41mm and I found a real difference in that it was very difficult for me to play chords without muting some strings. I must admit I am surprised the difference 2mm makes hence me trying to find out the true nut width before I spend around £1000 on a guitar. I realise that over time I would probably adapt to the narrower width but I am worried that I will get frustrated with constantly muting strings.
I know I can just go to the shop and try some out but I am just trying to research a few guitars first before I do that. The G&L site says their guitars are 41.3mm which is probably too narrow for me which is a shame as they seem to be highly regarded.

Thanks

(@stormcrowuk)
Topic starter  

Can anyone who has an American Deluxe Strat confirm the nut width for me? I am a beginner and I am currently using a Fernandes Monterey Elite which has a nut width of 43mm. I am planning on getting a USA Deluxe or maybe a G&L Strat. I recently had a go with a Fender Squire with a nut width of 41mm and I found a real difference in that it was very difficult for me to play chords without muting some strings. I must admit I am surprised the difference 2mm makes hence me trying to find out the true nut width before I spend around £1000 on a guitar. I realise that over time I would probably adapt to the narrower width but I am worried that I will get frustrated with constantly muting strings.