Clear all

Ohhh... this small hands.. *sigh...

17 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@fallen-im)
Topic starter  

Hi,

Im a newbie here. Im starting get really frustrated about scaling. Im trying to learn the intro of Under the Bridge by RHCP and the scale part of the intro is giving me a very hard time (not to mention im practicing it already for more than a month).. I have seen a dozen of covers and they seem to do it very easy as if they dont put any effort.. i observe that their hands are kinda bigger than i have and their fingers can go easily to any fret with pretty speed.. im wondering, is it the guitar im using.? if so, what could be the best guitar i can practice with, designed for individuals like me who has small hands. or what other things i can try.?

any of your advice will be very much appreciated.

by the way, what i have is an Applause guitar ae227 and im 5'5" tall (hope this helps)

cheers.!
^_^

(@davidhodge)

Many of my younger students want to learn this, or "Crazy Train" or some other song that involves strectches that are too big for them at present. How they manage to do it is by remembering that the note at the fifth fret of the low E string is the same as the open A and the note at the fifth fret of the A string is the same as the open D. That allows them to concentrate only on the notes at the second and fourth frets of those strings, which is a lot easier for their small hands. You might want to try that and see if it heps.

By the way, if you keep at it, your fingers will get use to making the stretches. First, allow them to jump from fret to fret. If you anchor your index finger at the second fret you're making it harder on yourself. Be sure you're not grabbing the neck with your thumb. That also limits your fingers ability to reach the desired notes.

I hope this helps. Not being able to watch you do it means a bit of guesswork on what advice to give!

Peace

ReplyQuote
(@moonrider)
Noble Member