Clear all

Ok...finally beginning

21 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@eirraca)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Thanks for putting up with my "its almost here" posts! Now...

What/how should I start learning first - scales, chords, positions, books or should I really start with a teacher? Of course we all want to start playing a song but I'm realistic that I should learn basics first. Just not sure what comes first! I'm looking at my guitar and am feeling overwhelmed all of a sudden; I pick it up and smile real big then not sure after that lol! Thanks a whole bunch guys :)

(@kcfenderfan)
Honorable Member

I'm a newbie also and have felt all the same things that you are feeling. I am taking lessons, and while I am undecided on whether to stick with my teacher, it has helped me to figure some things out that I am not sure I would have gotten otherwise. There are plenty of experienced players here that will surely offer their sage advice. This is just my humble 2 cents worth.

Good luck on which ever way you decide to go and keep us posted.

KC

ReplyQuote
(@ricola)
Estimable Member

While I think a teacher would be a great way to start as I'm a visual person, I was unable to do so. I live in a very small town and I tried the local guitar teacher but he was fired by the music store about two weeks after I started with him and I can see why.

So my next step was EMedia Guitar Method 1. This was decent and got me going in the right direction but I wasn't excited about it.

My second purchase was the Berklee Press's Guitar Method One with DVD. Now I really like this one. It will have you reading music right away and playing along. If you don't care to read music right away then avoid this method although I highly recommend it.