Clear all

Old strings?

19 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@ricola)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 3 months now so my guitar knowledge is still weak at best, but I'm learning and loving it all the same.
Anyways, I had the opportunity to strum some guitars at the semi-local GC today. While messing around another guy was fingerpicking a rather nice parkwood. I asked him about it and he said it was nice but that the string were a little old.

So my question is, how can you tell when strings are old? Is it their sound? their look?

My strings have been on for about 1 1/2 months and I play almost everyday for 2 hours or so. If it were yours would you change them out?

Thanks

Psa. 42:8
By day the LORD commands his steadfast love,
and at night his song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life.

(@artlutherie)
Noble Member

When strings get old they lose alot of their brightness and become hard to tune. After awhile you'll be able to tell when they get old. 6 weeks in the summer is a long time to go for me because I sweat alot I usually only get about 3 to 4 weeks on a set in the winter I can go 6 weeks but that's the high end.
When I was a beginner every time I thought I needed a new guitar I just changed the strings and got over the G.A.S. immediately.

Chuck Norris invented Kentucky Fried Chicken's famous secret recipe, with eleven herbs and spices. But nobody ever mentions the twelfth ingredient: Fear!
ChuckNorrisFactsdotCom

ReplyQuote
(@ricola)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

When strings get old they lose alot of their brightness and become hard to tune. After awhile you'll be able to tell when they get old. 6 weeks in the summer is a long time to go for me because I sweat alot I usually only get about 3 to 4 weeks on a set in the winter I can go 6 weeks but that's the high end.
When I was a beginner every time I thought I needed a new guitar I just changed the strings and got over the G.A.S. immediately.