Clear all

Overwhelmed?

22 Posts
21 Users
0 Likes
(@piratelove38)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've always been easily overwhelmed/frustrated when it came to my guitar (I've been playing for 3 years or so). Recently I went to a nearby Sam Ash and tried out a bunch of different guitars and amps for like an hour. Most of the people who were there were years younger than me (I'm 19) and sounded like freakin' Angus Young. Needless to say I didn't pick up my guitar for a week after that. I guess I just got overwhelmed by how much better they were and got kinda dispirited. Anyone have any tips on how to get over that feeling?

-Alma

(@falcon1)
Reputable Member

I have gotten that feeling as well - I think everyone gets it. Just move past it - realize that no matter how good you get, there will probably be someone better than you. Play for the sake of playing, not just for the sake of being better than others. I figure as long as I am having fun playing, and I notice some sort of improvement every once in a while, I am happy. Have fun! :)

ReplyQuote
(@mmoncur)
Estimable Member

Now imagine what I'd feel, as a 38-year-old who's only been playing for two months, in the same store...

What are your goals for playing guitar? If your goal is to sit in a guitar store and sound like Angus Young, you're right to be frustrated. But I have a feeling that's not it.

I just try to look at my progress relative to my goals, nothing more. My current goal is to be able to play some songs I like and to be able to compose and record my own music using the guitar. If I'm moving toward that goal, however slowly, I'm making progress.

If your goal is to write songs, join a band, become famous, whatever... No amount of 12-year-old show-offs at the guitar store are going to stop you. Your path is your own, and the only thing that can stop you is if you put the guitar down for a week every time you get discouraged.

Good luck!

ReplyQuote
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member