Clear all

Pesky D Chord!

12 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@longman)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

O.k, I have been playing for about 4 months now.

I practice alot and can play some quite complicated strumming patterns. I can play various fingerings for a few chords and can change between them fairly cleanly and quickly.

Except for the D chord. Whenever I change to the D chord I always deaden at least the high e and often the g and b as well.

I have slowed it right down and I practice the C to D and the G to D more than I practice anything else at the moment. I have even followed the exercises in the article on here about how to change chords and yet i don't seem to get better.

Every book and site i read has songs with G to D and C to D listed as easy songs so I guess this isn't a common problem. I get the feeling it should be easy and it is really frustrating me.

I guess it is bad muscle memory. Any advice?

(@mrodgers)
Trusted Member

It's not just you. I always read that the hardest is C to G but that was easy as pie for me. I play barre chords, I am currently playing Pink Floyd solos. But changing to the D chord is really tough for me too. I can switch and hit the e and G strings easily but getting the finger on the B string eludes me every time.

No help from me, sorry. Just wanted to say you're not alone.

Three finger A chord is a tough one for me also. Can't seem to switch to that one real fast either.

ReplyQuote
(@longman)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Wow! Your situation describes me perfectly!

I also found CC to G (and vice versa) pretty easy. I can play some barre chords (B minor to C minor etc) and play the most awkwardly fingered A chord you will ever see.

I have started training myself to put the ring finger on the b chord first. If I aim for this they all tend to come down at around the same time. However, the ring finger just insists on touching either the g or b when he first gets there.